Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2012, 10:39 AM   #1
schrutebucks
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Is Dark/High bound to your race?

From the FAQ:

Q. When can I play (or discard) Master, Dark, or High cards?
A. They can be played (or discarded) at at any time you would play (or discard) a Class or Race card.

My question is if you decide to voluntarily switch your race, does the dark/high get put into the discard pile with the old race card, or can you carry over the dark/high card to the new race?
schrutebucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:21 AM   #2
SmokeRulz
 
SmokeRulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Re: Is Dark/High bound to your race?

Yes, they're bound to the Race/Class you put it on. As the enhancers say themselves, they're lost when that Race/Class is lost.
__________________
Munchkin: 1-8, boosters/supplements
Zombies: 1-4, Dice, 1-3, supplements
Cthulhu: 1-4, Dice, supplements
Apocalypse: 1-2, supplements
Legends: 1
SmokeRulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:19 PM   #3
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Is Dark/High bound to your race?

Although the FAQ seems to indicate they are less tightly bound than they COULD be, because apparently they can be discarded independently.

Still doesn't let you swap it to a new Race, though.

Last edited by Mister Ed; 05-07-2012 at 01:42 PM.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 04:13 PM   #4
SmokeRulz
 
SmokeRulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Re: Is Dark/High bound to your race?

Yeah, it's possible you can discard them independently. Definitely no swapping. I'm going by what I've read on the forum before, though I can't seem to find the specific thread, if it's still here. Just wait for a mod to get to this thread, I suppose.
__________________
Munchkin: 1-8, boosters/supplements
Zombies: 1-4, Dice, 1-3, supplements
Cthulhu: 1-4, Dice, supplements
Apocalypse: 1-2, supplements
Legends: 1
SmokeRulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 05:17 PM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Is Dark/High bound to your race?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeRulz View Post
Yeah, it's possible you can discard them independently. Definitely no swapping. I'm going by what I've read on the forum before, though I can't seem to find the specific thread, if it's still here. Just wait for a mod to get to this thread, I suppose.
Discard, yes. Swap, no.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 05:30 PM   #6
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Is Dark/High bound to your race?

And I'm pretty sure you can't use the Race/Class replacement trick to keep Race and Class enhancers in play either. What I mean is the one from the FAQ:
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAQ
Q. If I only have one Class, and am changing the Class, do I lose any items that say "if you lose your Class, discard this card"?
A. As long as you play the new Class immediately after discarding the old Class, no. Think of switching a Class as one action with two parts (discarding the old Class, playing a new Class) so that action has to complete before any other actions would start.
At first glance, it may seem this applies to the text on the Race and Class Enhancers, which would mean you could go from being a Dark Elf to a Dark Halfling for example, provided you played the Halfling immediately after discarding the Elf. However the Enhancers specifically talk about losing the attached Race/Class card rather than your generic Race/Class as defined by the FAQ, so it doesn't apply and you lose the Enhancer.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 05:53 PM   #7
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Is Dark/High bound to your race?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post

At first glance, it may seem this applies to the text on the Race and Class Enhancers...
Except that FAQ entry is specifically asking about items, which enhancers are not.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com

Last edited by Bampop; 05-07-2012 at 05:54 PM. Reason: Speling errir.
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:05 PM   #8
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Is Dark/High bound to your race?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bampop View Post
Except that FAQ entry is specifically asking about items, which enhancers are not.
A second reason why it doesn't count, yes. Hmm... I wonder why that didn't come up when I had my confusion over Super Munchkin/Half-Breed and that FAQ question.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:25 PM   #9
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Is Dark/High bound to your race?

You cannot swap a Race or Class out from under an Enhancer. Think of the Enhancers as shoes and the Race or Class as socks -- you can switch shoes without changing socks, but not vice versa.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games
Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games || Medium: @SJGames

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dark, high, race

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.