Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 04:13 PM   #1
Monycker
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Heya! Just joined the forum because my roommates were having a debate over the validity of, what I think, is a very clever (if ambiguous) series of an initial winning strategy and a counter.

Basically, it goes like this: we're playing with the original set of Munchkin cards. My roommate - Michael - was a Cleric class. He's level 9, about to win, when he plays the Wand of Dowsing, allowing him to go back through the discard pile and pick any card he wants. He chooses Divine Intervention, which allows clerics to go up a level immediately, and can be used to get to level 10 and win the game.

Then, my roommate Blake uses the Change Class card. I feel like this is the only way to really counter the divine intervention card, and so does Blake. However, Michael disagrees and states that he'd have had to use the Change Class curse BEFORE he used the Wand of Dowsing to get the Divine Intervention card.

Now, while I see the legitimacy of both sides, I feel like the only way to have an effective STRATEGY (as opposed to simple luck at having played the Change Class card before you even knew your opponent was going to use the Wand of Dowsing to get Divine Intervention) is to allow for the initial strategy of leveling up a cleric to happen, only to COUNTER with changing the class. It seems more clever and fun to make deliberate counters, as opposed to just randomly playing cards in the hopes that someone's day gets ruined. The way we played it out, with Michael winning and Blake's counter-strategy being invalidated, seems to take more power out of the hands of the player, and put it into the simple serendipity of drawing cards from the deck and blindly throwing cards around.

What do you guys think? Should we have kept playing with Michael's strategy having been invalidated? Or was it right that Michael won, despite Blake's strategic and unconventional use of the Change Class card?

Looking forward to what the forum has to say about this!
Monycker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 04:50 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Munchkin resolves cards as they are played. If a player is a Cleric when Divine Intervention comes out -- however it comes out -- he gets the level immediately.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:42 PM   #3
Ze'Manel Cunha
 
Ze'Manel Cunha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Antilles, it's hot...
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Munchkin resolves cards as they are played. If a player is a Cleric when Divine Intervention comes out -- however it comes out -- he gets the level immediately.
Though to add, Blake could play Change/Lose Class on Michael after the latter picked up the DI with Wand of Dowsing, but before he put DI into play, which would leave Michael holding and being able to play DI, but no longer being a Cleric, right?


Question is just to make sure things haven't changed:
http://forums.sjgames.com/showpost.p...65&postcount=9
Ze'Manel Cunha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 06:18 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ze'Manel Cunha View Post
Though to add, Blake could play Change/Lose Class on Michael after the latter picked up the DI with Wand of Dowsing, but before he put DI into play, which would leave Michael holding and being able to play DI, but no longer being a Cleric, right?
Once he pulls the DI card, he has to play the card immediately. There isn't a window of decision with this the way there is with some other cards. If you want to make him lose his Class, play the card before he finishes going through the discard piles.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 08:50 PM   #5
snarky
 
snarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Snoqualmie, WA
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Yeah, if a L9 cleric starts digging through the discard pile, I'd be sure to get rid of his class as soon as reasonably possible.
__________________
Fantasy 1/2/3/4/5/6/7-MGC,7-CWBH, MfD, FD, WfS, RG, SR, Reloaded, Munchkinomicon, Conan
Axe Cop | Booty, Fish & Ships | Cthulhu 1/2/3 | Zombies | Cthulhu Dice | Zombie Dice
Android Level Counter
snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 06:06 AM   #6
ganushi11
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

In many other card games, a system called a stack is used. It works as follows. When someone plays a card, another player can play a different card on "the stack". Then once ppl stop playing cards on the stack, you resolve by starting with the most recently played card. Meaning in your specific case, he would lose his class and not gain the level even through DI was played first.
Of course this is just one method. I hope it helps.
ganushi11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 06:20 AM   #7
RL
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colorado
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

EDIT: Ignore this post, it's wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by snarky View Post
Yeah, if a L9 cleric starts digging through the discard pile, I'd be sure to get rid of his class as soon as reasonably possible.
That won't work in Munchkin. He can only dig through a discard if a card allows him to do so, and the effect of that card must be resolved before any other card can be played (with a small number of exceptions such as Annihilation). So if he's digging through the discard pile, it's too late to stop him from pulling and playing Divine Intervention.
__________________
Check out my Munchkin trade post

Last edited by RL; 01-23-2012 at 07:17 AM.
RL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 06:45 AM   #8
Doering
 
Doering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad Cloman View Post
So if he's digging through the discard pile, it's too late to stop him from pulling and playing Divine Intervention.
That is not what Andrew said, isnīt it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
If you want to make him lose his Class, play the card before he finishes going through the discard piles.
__________________
My Munchkin-Collection at Flickr
Doering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 07:41 AM   #9
RL
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Colorado
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

EDIT: Ignore this post, it's wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doering View Post
That is not what Andrew said, isnīt it?
Not exactly. I'm saying that once he begins looking through the discard pile, it's already too late to make him lose his class.
__________________
Check out my Munchkin trade post

Last edited by RL; 01-23-2012 at 07:17 AM.
RL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 08:00 AM   #10
Cheese8242
 
Cheese8242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Indiana
Default Re: Rules Discrepancy - Divine Intervention Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by ganushi11 View Post
In many other card games, a system called a stack is used. It works as follows. When someone plays a card, another player can play a different card on "the stack". Then once ppl stop playing cards on the stack, you resolve by starting with the most recently played card. Meaning in your specific case, he would lose his class and not gain the level even through DI was played first.
Of course this is just one method. I hope it helps.
The thing is Munchkin doesn't have a "stack" mechanic.
__________________
Tim Williamson
MIB #4282

The Most Impressive Loser in the MQ Gauntlet
Cheese8242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change class, divine intervention, endgame, rules, wand of dowsing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.