Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Quest

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2011, 08:22 AM   #1
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default FAQ Update: what should we include?

We're working on a real Munchkin Quest FAQ, and so I'm throwing this out to y'all: what questions SHOULD be answered in it? You're welcome to post links to threads here, especially if those links include "Yeah, we ought to put that in the FAQ" from Erik or me.

Please restrict this to questions that really are frequently asked, especially with respect to cards or rules that seem to keep coming up.

Thanks for your help!
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 09:38 AM   #2
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: FAQ Update: what should we include?

"Will <special item/expansion> that works on Munchkin work on Munchkin Quest?"

"When will <new expansion> be released?"

"How does Monster move works" (I see this a lot: people don't realise they have to roll once for all monster at the end of a players turn).

Clarification that Search is done with a d6 (the new rules cover this better, but you never know when someone will stumble into an earlier print).

"Do you change the type of link (Locked, Hidden) after someone go through?"
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 03:55 PM   #3
bondace007
 
Join Date: May 2011
Default Re: FAQ Update: what should we include?

The rules cover this but I see it alot. What is the different between the links and can monster go through them
bondace007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 04:43 PM   #4
Bookman
 
Bookman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Default Re: FAQ Update: what should we include?

Here's what I recall:
(Andrew, I can retroactively add links if it will be helpful, but I don't have time for a complex post like that right this moment.)

Buying levels:
Does buying a level constitute a deal?
Does buying a level cost a point of move?
Two sides of the same coin. It does not.

When buying levels, can I sell items directly from my hand?
Yes. Links:
http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=59820
http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=48220

Running Away:
Do the "good" and "bad" room icons affect rolls to run away?
No. The icons affect only combat rolls and search rolls.

Combat:
If I lose a combat, is my turn over?
No. You may continue to use any remaining move points.

Can I fight the same monster twice in one turn?
Yes! If you run away from a monster and still have enough movement left to re-enter the monster's room, you may attempt to fight it again.

Death:
When I am dead, do I receive DxM cards when the monster die rolls my color?
Yes. Even though you are dead, you still remain an active player, and can still receive cards from charity, the monster die, etc.

Monster Movement:
Can monsters leave the board (Monsters Leaving the Board, p. 13) when moving as a result of a card like wandering monster?
No. Monsters only "leave the board" during the monster movement phase while following the colored arrows.
__________________
Smart people are very good at rationalizing things that they came to believe from non-smart reasons. - Michael Shermer
Bookman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 07:45 PM   #5
Seafaringsoul
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default Re: FAQ Update: what should we include?

When interfering with a combat, what actions can only be done if you are in the same or an adjacent room? (i.e. throwable items . . . is that it??)

Can I curse items and other players, enhance monsters, and backstab even if I am across the board??
Seafaringsoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 10:21 PM   #6
Bookman
 
Bookman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Default Re: FAQ Update: what should we include?

Here's a thought. It seems to me that some kind of note directing people to the glossary is a good idea, as lots of infrequent questions get asked that are clarified by the glossary. Frex:

Q: What should I do if my question isn't answered here?
A: First, make sure you've read the rules. (Ahem.)
Second, make sure you've read the glossary (p.18-p.19). The definitions in the glossary clarify many common questions.
Finally, if you're still stumped, visit the Munchkin Quest forum at ...
__________________
Smart people are very good at rationalizing things that they came to believe from non-smart reasons. - Michael Shermer
Bookman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 09:32 AM   #7
Quaff_fu
 
Quaff_fu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Green Bay, Wismunchkin
Default Re: FAQ Update: what should we include?

Were can I get Munchkin Quest Gauntlet?

Pat
__________________
"In this life now you kill your you die, or you die and you kill. " - The Governor.
Quaff_fu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 07:57 AM   #8
ComBAT
 
ComBAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Default Re: FAQ Update: what should we include?

If the main munchkin in combat has a helper, but is magically teleported to another room, does the Helper get to finish the combat even though they have enough strength to win? No. The main combatant is considered to have run away, so the helper must attempt to run away as well.
ComBAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 08:54 AM   #9
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: FAQ Update: what should we include?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ComBAT View Post
If the main munchkin in combat has a helper, but is magically teleported to another room, does the Helper get to finish the combat even though they have enough strength to win? No. The main combatant is considered to have run away, so the helper must attempt to run away as well.
I actually don't like that answer one bit (even though I probably gave that answer at some point). I have a better idea: if the main combatant leaves a fight through some means OTHER than Running Away, the fight ends immediately and the helper just stays where he is.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 09:28 AM   #10
ComBAT
 
ComBAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Default Re: FAQ Update: what should we include?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
I actually don't like that answer one bit (even though I probably gave that answer at some point). I have a better idea: if the main combatant leaves a fight through some means OTHER than Running Away, the fight ends immediately and the helper just stays where he is.
No problem. Maybe I mis-paraphrased what I got out of this thread: http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=71158

I just wanted to make sure that it was known that something like this can be confusing and may be a good FAQ.
ComBAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.