Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2011, 01:21 PM   #1
Signboy
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reno, NV
Default Gnome Question

I searched the forum and FAQ, but couldn't come up with an answer.

Under what circumstances may a gnome use his ability to play a monster as a one shot item?

The text of the card indicates that this can be done in combat alone (the card has the italics).

I took this to mean that a gnome can only use this ability when fighting a monster in a combat in which another player does not help.

My friend felt that it means that a gnome can use this ability while in combat - whether his own or when helping out another munchkin. He argues that the alone only indicates that the ability cannot be used to aid a monster, because the gnome is not actually in combat at that time.

Are either of us correct?
__________________
"If this isn't nice, I don't know what is" - Kurt Vonnegut's dad.
Signboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 01:28 PM   #2
snarky
 
snarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Snoqualmie, WA
Default Re: Gnome Question

It's semantics, but I think that "alone" means just that - only the Gnome is fighting. If it were intended to simply mean "only in combat"...well, that's probably exactly what the card would say, or "in any combat".

I think the whole purpose of this ability is to allow a Gnome to pull a "helper" from his hand when his buddies aren't willing or able to help him.
__________________
Fantasy 1/2/3/4/5/6/7-MGC,7-CWBH, MfD, FD, WfS, RG, SR, Reloaded, Munchkinomicon, Conan
Axe Cop | Booty, Fish & Ships | Cthulhu 1/2/3 | Zombies | Cthulhu Dice | Zombie Dice
Android Level Counter
snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 01:59 PM   #3
Signboy
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reno, NV
Default Re: Gnome Question

Thank you snarky, that is essentially what I felt it meant. It makes the most logical sense.
__________________
"If this isn't nice, I don't know what is" - Kurt Vonnegut's dad.
Signboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 03:00 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Gnome Question

"Alone," in this case means that the Gnome must not have help in the form of another player joining him in the combat.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:43 PM   #5
Kirt
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default Re: Gnome Question

If a Gnome already has a helper, or already is a helper, he cannot use his illusion ability.

But if a gnome already used his illusion ability when he was, alone, the main combatant, he CAN ask for help.
If another munchkin agrees to come in to the combat as a helper, the monster illusion and any monster enhancers that have been played on it are discarded. See, for example, MM here.
Kirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gnome, illusion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.