Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2011, 05:17 AM   #1
Staal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Flask of Glue

Hello all,

I am sorry to bring this card up again, but I have searched the forum and didn't find an answer to my question.

First of all, when does combat end if things go wrong and I have to run away? Does combat end after declaring that I have to run away or does it end after I rolled a dice and escaped/suffered bad stuff?

Back to the main question. Flask of Glue states:
Use when someone successfully escapes a combat for any reason. They must re-roll their escape (even if it was automatic the first time). Usable once only.

Suppose player A is fighting two (regular) monsters and hasn't got the combat strength to beat them. He must run away. Suppose he succesfully escapes both monsters. Can the Flask of Glue be used to force a re-roll for both attempts or just for one?
The reason I'm asking is that the card says "escapes a combat". I mean, wouldn't it have said "escapes a monster" if it was meant to be used to force just one re-roll?

I'm looking forward to your thoughts on the matter.
Staal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 07:00 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Flask of Glue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staal View Post
Hello all,

I am sorry to bring this card up again, but I have searched the forum and didn't find an answer to my question.

First of all, when does combat end if things go wrong and I have to run away? Does combat end after declaring that I have to run away or does it end after I rolled a dice and escaped/suffered bad stuff?
Once you decide to Run Away and are preparing to roll the dice, combat's over. However, I'm not sure of the context here. Why does it matter? If you have a link to your original question, maybe that would help, but if you can explain the context without it, maybe I can give an extended answer.

Quote:
Suppose player A is fighting two (regular) monsters and hasn't got the combat strength to beat them. He must run away. Suppose he succesfully escapes both monsters. Can the Flask of Glue be used to force a re-roll for both attempts or just for one?
The reason I'm asking is that the card says "escapes a combat". I mean, wouldn't it have said "escapes a monster" if it was meant to be used to force just one re-roll?
Flask Of Glue is worded to cover several different possible scenarios, including escapes that get you past all the Monsters in one fell swoop (like Instant Wall, or sacrificing a Hireling, even though Hireling sacrifice didn't exist when the card was created). In those cases, you'd have to roll against each Monster. However, if it's played after you successfully run away from one Monster, I'd only have that affect that roll, even if you had successfully run away from 2 other Monster before.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flask of glue, run away

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.