Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2011, 11:34 AM   #1
Michiel
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Lose big items when losing dwarf race

I know there's been other threads about this subject, but the questions are not the same as mine

When someone has 2 big items as a dwarf and he loses his dwarf race, he has to get rid of one of those items

now, the rules state that he may not discard items. He can either trade them or sell them unless another card says he has to discard an item.

does this mean that in case of the huge rock, which has no value, he has to sell other stuff with total at least 100 gold along with the rock to get rid of it? and what if he is already level 9?

In case of a trade you have to carry the items right away or equip them. Is it possible to trade a big item from someone else if you already have a big item and you're not a dwarf? If yes, can you put it in your hand?

Thanks

EDIT: of course I mean 1000 gold, not 100

Last edited by Michiel; 01-09-2011 at 05:57 AM.
Michiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 02:05 PM   #2
Cuddlefish
 
Cuddlefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: North Eastern Principalities
Default Re: Lose big items when losing dwarf race

If you lost your race (dwarf in this case) during your turn, I would believe that you would have the option to sell off big items you could no longer carry, assuming you have 1000 gold worth of items to sell. During your opponents turn, you would have to choose big items to give away or dicard until you're down to a legal number of big items, because, as I understand it, you cannot sell items on an opponents turn.

Although, I could be wrong on this, so don't take my word for it.

Dimo (Cuddlefish), TTLC, HMSH, House of GABCab
__________________
Cuddlefish: A fisher of men... Or a manner of fish??
Cuddlefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 02:19 PM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Lose big items when losing dwarf race

Yes, you'd have to get to 1000 GP (not 100, which I'm going to assume was a typo) in order to sell, and you can't sell at Level 9 regardless of the situation. You also can't sell when it's not your turn.

So, if it's not your turn, you'll have to trade, give away or finally discard the extra Big Item(s).
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 03:11 PM   #4
Kirt
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default Re: Lose big items when losing dwarf race

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michiel View Post
In case of a trade you have to carry the items right away or equip them. Is it possible to trade a big item from someone else if you already have a big item and you're not a dwarf? If yes, can you put it in your hand?
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Rules
"If you stop being a Dwarf and you have more than one Big item, you must immediately get rid of all but one.
If itís your turn, you can sell them. Otherwise, you must give them to the lowest-Level player(s) who can carry them!"
The "who can carry them" clause in the rules implies that you cannot give a Big item to someone who has no legal way of carrying it, so no, it does not go into their hand.
In general, an item in play remains in play unless you have a card that specifically says it can be taken in to someone's hand.

I would consider allowing someone to receive a Big item they could not carry IF they had a Cheat! card in hand and could play it IMMEDIATELY, but I would like to hear official opinion on that.
Kirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 03:40 PM   #5
whassumattuh
 
whassumattuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Default Re: Lose big items when losing dwarf race

This is somewhat in line with the subject. If you are forced to give away a big item (e.g., by losing Dwarf race) and you have a Big Rock, can you force someone to take the Big Rock if they don't want it? They might already be using their Hands and wish to reserve their Big item for something more valuable.
whassumattuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 06:17 PM   #6
Michiel
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: Lose big items when losing dwarf race

I'n quite sure that it is NOT allowed to discard items unless you're told explicitly to do so (by another card or whatever).
This would mean that if you have to lose a big item and no-one wants it, and you do not have items enough to sell up to at least 1000 gold, you are stuck. You cannot get rid of it and the game freezes, unless this is a case in which you are allowed to discard.
Michiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 07:39 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Lose big items when losing dwarf race

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michiel View Post
I'n quite sure that it is NOT allowed to discard items unless you're told explicitly to do so (by another card or whatever).
This would mean that if you have to lose a big item and no-one wants it, and you do not have items enough to sell up to at least 1000 gold, you are stuck. You cannot get rid of it and the game freezes, unless this is a case in which you are allowed to discard.
The rules are explicit on this point: if you have to lose a Big item and there's no other way to get rid of it, you discard it. But you can't choose to discard a Big item to make room for another one, nor can you choose to discard an extra Big item to prevent someone else from getting it.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 11:58 PM   #8
Kirt
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default Re: Lose big items when losing dwarf race

Quote:
Originally Posted by whassumattuh View Post
If you are forced to give away a big item (e.g., by losing Dwarf race) and you have a Big Rock, can you force someone to take the Big Rock if they don't want it?
Here, Andrew said "The question of whether the specific recipient can refuse the item is not addressed, but my reading of the rules says that he cannot -- he's getting the Big item, for good or ill. This is something we should clear up and get into the FAQ."
Kirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:59 AM   #9
whassumattuh
 
whassumattuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA
Default Re: Lose big items when losing dwarf race

Thanks Kirt.
whassumattuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
big items, dwarf, dwarf big items discard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.