Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2010, 11:25 PM   #11
Kirt
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default Re: Twins

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
I would still check in with SJ, but it seems to me that you can only use the Doppleganger when you are alone. If you're no longer alone, the Doppleganger fizzles out since you're no longer alone. Other options are you can't get help at all, or you can get help and keep the Doppleganger because you used it when you were alone. Neither of those other options are what I would think make the most sense.
This seems very analogous to a gnome playing illusion and later being helped.

I would hope the ruling is similar for consistancy.
Kirt is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 09:02 PM   #12
Blackasnight
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default Re: Twins

I was reading this and was wondering if what the outcome is

-Justin
Blackasnight is offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 09:18 PM   #13
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Twins

Well, I can recall ruling similarly several times before, so I'm guessing a forum search for "gnome illusion" will probably find it.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 05:47 AM   #14
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Twins

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackasnight View Post
I was reading this and was wondering if what the outcome is
Hasn't been one yet. Steve's been too busy writing the next Munchkin set for me to bother him with a niggling rule question.

So, for now, I'm going to make this official (subject to change later): if you have already played Doppleganger, or used the Gnome's Illusion power, or activated any other ability that requires you to be alone in the combat, you may still ask for help if the situation changes, but the Doppleganger/Illusion/whatever fizzles at that point, and you don't get those cards back, either.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 08:05 AM   #15
Gamer234
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Re: Twins

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
So, for now, I'm going to make this official (subject to change later): if you have already played Doppleganger, or used the Gnome's Illusion power, or activated any other ability that requires you to be alone in the combat, you may still ask for help if the situation changes, but the Doppleganger/Illusion/whatever fizzles at that point, and you don't get those cards back, either.
If a Gnome fighting alone illusions in a creature for the bonus, and then discards his gnome card (by choice or by force), does the bonus remain? My assumption is yes--similar to warriors and clerics who keep the bonuses they receive from triggering their ability even if they lose their class after.

Following that assumption (traditionally shaky ground), once the Gnome has activated the class ability, the conditions of the ability have been met. It doesn't say you can't ask for help after. It doesn't say lose the bonus if you are later joined by another. To me, the only 2 aspects of the Gnome's restriction are: 1) You can only do it once per combat, and 2) You have to be alone *at the time* you do it.

Hmmm.
Gamer234 is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 08:11 AM   #16
Gamer234
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Re: Twins

Just a thought on Doppleganger...the text on the card says:

"You may use the Doppleganger only when you are the only player in combat."

Munchkin is a quirky game so my question is this. In that line, when it says, 'the Doppleganger' does it mean the card or does it mean your summoned double? Or both?

If it is A then I would think the card can only be played when alone, but once played, your Double will fight even if you are later joined. If B then I would allow the card to be played while *not* alone in combat, but your Double wouldn't fight alongside you. If at some point during the combat the Helper is forced to leave, your Double would then get off his/her butt. If it covers both the card and the summoned double then I totally get having the Double fizzle if you are later joined in combat.
Gamer234 is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 08:41 AM   #17
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Twins

I'm not soliciting further counterarguments at this time. I've made my official ruling (subject to change by Steve).
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
doppleganger, helping

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.