Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2012, 08:14 PM   #1
MunchkinAddictT
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SC
Default "Help Me Out Here" card

The Help Me Out Here card states that you can take an item from another player while in combat that would be the difference between your winning or not. AFTER combat, we have been giving the item BACK to the original owner of the item. We thought it was a borrowing card. So.... do you indeed KEEP the item after combat??? I thought I read so somewhere along one of the threads. Now that we went back and read the card we are all confused. I do not remember which pack the card came in and it actually isn't marked at the bottom like the unnatural axe, and need for steed and such...
MunchkinAddictT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 08:19 PM   #2
DoomedDuck
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Macon, GA
Default Re: "Help Me Out Here" card

It's from the base Munchkin, which is why it doesn't have an expansion icon. And yes, you keep the item, not return it. If I'm not mistaken, the card text says "take" one item. That means you take it and keep it.
DoomedDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 09:59 PM   #3
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: "Help Me Out Here" card

I second DoomedDuck's opinion for the same reason. The cards says to take the Item, not borrow it.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:18 PM   #4
MunchkinAddictT
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: SC
Default Re: "Help Me Out Here" card

thanks y'all!! wow... whole new game with some of the rules we had misinterpreted ! Things might REALLY get brutal before long!!!
MunchkinAddictT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:37 PM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: "Help Me Out Here" card

I'm fairly certain that you read it on the other forum because I know we've covered that one several times. I'll confirm the opinions with official fact: You keep the card.

Though icons have been around a while (even before there was full-color Munchkin), it's always possible to find pre-icon sets. However, more often than not, if you have a card without an icon, it came from core set of that genre. However, there are links to specific card lists on the product pages for every set and expansion. Look towards the bottom, usually in first bullet under Resources.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 09-04-2012 at 10:46 PM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:17 PM   #6
UncleBob
 
UncleBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern Illinois
Default Re: "Help Me Out Here" card

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Though icons have been around a while (even before there was full-color Munchkin), it's always possible to find pre-icon sets. However, more often than not, if you have a card without an icon, it came from core set of that genre.
Unless, of course, it's Henchmonster - the promo card without an icon that drove me crazy for quite a bit last night when I was sorting out my sets and couldn't figure out why my core deck seemed to have an extra door card, but not a single other card had any other icons on it. :D :D :D

Quote:
However, there are links to specific card lists on the product pages for every set and expansion. Look towards the bottom, usually in first bullet under Resources.
It'd be quite the undertaking for the entire Munchkin line, but if we had some user submitted spreadsheets with the card names, deck designation (Door, Treasure, etc.) and series/set name (then it would be something one could sort alphabetically by card name or resort by set name, etc.) is this something y'all would consider hosting? I wouldn't be able to do the whole series (as I've only got the fantasy decks/boosters/etc.), but I'm guessing there's more than a few of us who might be able to work together to make it happen. It'd be a little easier than clicking onto multiple pages to try find which set a particular card came from.
UncleBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 12:49 PM   #7
alextmoreschi
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default Re: "Help Me Out Here" card

I have a question about the help me out here card; Can one take an item that one could not normally use. For example, if I am a warrior can I steal a clerics mace of sharpness? Or any other example.
Thanks for your help!
alextmoreschi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 01:51 PM   #8
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: "Help Me Out Here" card

No. The card doesn't mention avoiding any carrying or usage restrictions.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 05:50 PM   #9
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: "Help Me Out Here" card

The whole point is that you must be able to use the Item, since the card mentions that the Item must make the difference between winning and losing. It allows you to get rid of an Item that is "in the way," but that does not imply that you can use an Item you couldn't normally use because of Race, Class, or gender restrictions.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 08:41 PM   #10
Morgul_Maggot
 
Morgul_Maggot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Missouri
Default Re: "Help Me Out Here" card

Am I correct in assuming, then, that the aforementioned item could still be played IF there was a CHEAT card?
__________________
*Older Than Pong!*
Morgul_Maggot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.