Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 11:00 AM   #1
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default cleric

first of all i have to say this game is awesome! makes army life much much easier to pass!

so i got a questions, please bear with me, this questions is probably answered but i still dont quite understand,

so cleric's resurrection says ( from what i understand) skip the door kicking, may take the cards from discard pile, then discard the amount you take, so to say there is 3 clerics in the game, all 3 is beside each other, divine intervention is overturned by a warrior ( he ends turn after ddrawing the 2nd door), the clerics all gain a level, now is the first cleric's turn, he skips the door kicking and takes the divine intervention via resurrection, levels again, and the second cleric's turn, does it again, and all 3 cleric's level again, and then the 3rd cleric does the same thing, they level 4 times in a row, is that legal? because i dont quite understand the "ability". is my scenario correct?
tiochaota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:17 AM   #2
SmokeRulz's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Re: cleric

First off, to clarify, the Cleric's Resurrection ability doesn't HAVE to be used specifically on the Kick Down the Door phase. It can be used at any point you'd draw a face-up card(s). You also aren't actually skipping the door kicking, you're just replacing the door you would have drawn with the top discard instead. So don't get too confused there.

As for your actual question, assuming Divine Intervention is the card on top of the discard, yes you could Resurrect it and gain its effects. The Clerics that come after you could also do so, but only if Divine Intervention is still on top of the discards at that point. If you discard anything else to the Door deck during your turn after using Divine, then it will get covered up.

Wait for an official ruling on this one, of course. It's possible that because of Divine Intervention's immediate effect, your discard cost may come afterward, which would cover the card up right after using it, so the next two Clerics wouldn't be able to resurrect it.
Munchkin: 1-8, boosters/supplements
Zombies: 1-4, Dice, 1-3, supplements
Cthulhu: 1-4, Dice, supplements
Apocalypse: 1-2, supplements
Legends: 1
SmokeRulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 11:39 AM   #3
Bampop's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: cleric

If you make sure to discard a Treasure as the cost, you shouldn't have a problem keeping DI on top if the door discards as long as no one else plays a Curse! or interferes in some other way.
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 02:55 PM   #4
Clipper's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: cleric

This does seem legal, but there is a way to stop any of them from doing it. Discard your Race, Class or Hireling to cover up Divine Intervention. You can do any of these actions at any time, even when it's not your turn. If you can find some other legal way to discard a Door card (e.g., playing a non-continuing Curse or a theft attempt if you're a Thief), that's good too.

And Bampop, even if the Clerics are choosing to discard Doors, they can manage it. A ruling the other day made it clear that Divine Intervention would be discarded at the same time as the discard cost the Cleric pays, and given it's the Cleric's turn, they can put Divine Intervention on top of the discards.
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 12:57 PM   #5
Join Date: Mar 2017
Default Re: cleric

Sorry I am trying to catch up on old posts so I can ask questions without being repetitive and I came across this one. I was playing last night and the Cleric card said they can take some or all of the top of the discard pile and discard that many cards out of their hand.

We had a Cleric who would keep getting the divine intervention card by resurrecting down the three cards that it was buried under. (We were only playing three players so it was hard to bury it deeper than his hand had cards.)

However as I read this post I see that some people are saying Cleric can only take the top card. Is this true?
wildbreloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 03:31 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: cleric

You cannot resurrect more cards than you are able to draw at that time.
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.