Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2012, 06:28 PM   #1
Flemroid
 
Flemroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NY
Default Knight Mare

Am I missing something or is the Knight Mare just a level 22 monster pretty much?
__________________
Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4GLTE smartphone
Flemroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 07:29 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Knight Mare

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flemroid View Post
Am I missing something or is the Knight Mare just a level 22 monster pretty much?
No, as level and combat strength are different things, but her unaltered combat strength is at least 22:
  • Against only non-Centaurs, she's a Level 20 with a combat strength of 22.
  • Against only Centaurs, she's a Level 20 with a combat strength of 24.
  • Against a mix of Centaurs and non-Centaurs, she's a Level 20 with a combat strength of 26.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:04 PM   #3
Flemroid
 
Flemroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NY
Default Re: Knight Mare

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
No, as level and combat strength are different things, but her unaltered combat strength is at least 22:
  • Against only non-Centaurs, she's a Level 20 with a combat strength of 22.
  • Against only Centaurs, she's a Level 20 with a combat strength of 24.
  • Against a mix of Centaurs and non-Centaurs, she's a Level 20 with a combat strength of 26.
Gotcha. I guess I sort of meant this :)
__________________
Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4GLTE smartphone
Flemroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 08:02 AM   #4
Cylar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default Re: Knight Mare

What if you are a Half-Breed Centaur?
Cylar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 09:34 AM   #5
morleydotes
Moderator Emeritus
 
morleydotes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Salem, OR.
Default Re: Knight Mare

You would look very strange.


Pat
__________________
Salem Midnight Crew / MIB 1987 Or the Wrong MIB. Salem Cell leader, for the clueless in Oregon.
Ahhhh... I see the Screw-Up Fairy has visited us again.
Closed Captioned for the Humor Impaired
morleydotes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 10:05 AM   #6
Enzzo
 
Enzzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Default Re: Knight Mare

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cylar View Post
What if you are a Half-Breed Centaur?
If you have Half-Breed and Centaur, and no other Race cards, Knight Mare would have a strength of 22 in that case, since it would be as though you did not have the Centaur Race.
Enzzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 03:12 PM   #7
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Knight Mare

I agree with Enzzo, unless the Half-Centaur is fighting alongside a full Centaur. In that case, it is an advantage to be a Centaur to keep the Knight Mare at 24 rather than 26.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 01:44 AM   #8
kotya
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Knight Mare

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
[*]Against only non-Centaurs, she's a Level 20 with a combat strength of 22.
what if half-Dwarf/half-Elf is fighting her? She gets +2 against both Dwarves and Elves, so will she get +4 in this case? and what if half-Gnome/half-Halfling helps him? because FAQ says,

Quote:
Q. Do combat bonuses that monsters receive against Races or Classes stack? For example, if a monster gets +4 against Dwarves and +4 against Elves and I'm a half-Dwarf/half-Elf, does that monster get +8 in combat against me?
A. Unless it says otherwise on the card itself, monster combat bonuses do stack. This means that the above monster would be a +8. (Fair warning: this is a change from previous discussions, but it IS the official ruling henceforth.)
but I'm not sure if it works for this particular case.

the other question: does she get +2 against Classes/Mojos/Accents etc. or against Races only?
kotya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 02:36 AM   #9
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Knight Mare

Quote:
Originally Posted by kotya View Post
what if half-Dwarf/half-Elf is fighting her? She gets +2 against both Dwarves and Elves, so will she get +4 in this case? and what if half-Gnome/half-Halfling helps him? because FAQ says,

but I'm not sure if it works for this particular case.
There's a similar monster, The Kevinator from Munchkin: The Guild that has +5 against everyone. It has been ruled that that means a +5 total, not +5 per different type of Race or Class present. This makes it clear that the 'everyone else' of the Knight Mare will not discriminate between other classes. In other words, treat here second bonus as +2 against non-Centaurs. It would get a +2 against a Half-Dwarf-Elf, whether they have the Half-Gnome-Halfling Helper or not.

Quote:
the other question: does she get +2 against Classes/Mojos/Accents etc. or against Races only?
The definition above means this isn't important (and another good reason to treat it this way). It's a +2 against non-Centaurs, which would include people with no Race cards and any combination of other Stats, as they are Human.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:44 AM   #10
kotya
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Knight Mare

Good catch. The thread about The Kevinator is here.

So, if you are Centaur-Gnome, does she get +6?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipper View Post
The definition above means this isn't important (and another good reason to treat it this way). It's a +2 against non-Centaurs, which would include people with no Race cards and any combination of other Stats, as they are Human.
what if they have Centaur race? e.g., Centaur-Wizard? Does she get +6?

What does the card text say, "+2 against non-Centaurs" or "+2 against everyone else"? I don't have it in front of me.

Last edited by kotya; 12-27-2012 at 07:23 AM.
kotya is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.