Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2012, 02:54 PM   #1
UncleBob
 
UncleBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern Illinois
Default Return of "Cheat"

If both your hands are full and you cheat an item like, say, the Sword of Khalar Zym that gives you a +3 with one hand or +6 with two hands, what is the bonus for this?
UncleBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 04:13 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Return of "Cheat"

Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleBob View Post
If both your hands are full and you cheat an item like, say, the Sword of Khalar Zym that gives you a +3 with one hand or +6 with two hands, what is the bonus for this?
You treat the card as if you were wielding it with 0 hands. For the Sword of Khalar Zym, this would make it +3 (it is only +6 when two-handed).
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 04:41 PM   #3
UncleBob
 
UncleBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern Illinois
Default Re: Return of "Cheat"

Makes sense. Thank you.

I was flipping through my cards trying to make the highest-powered game-legal character I could come up with using my current cards. The use of this card made a difference between playing it on a cheat card to get +6 vs. +5 from another item. :D

Without one-time use bonuses, I got up to 87+one that gave a bonus based on dice roll, so a minimum of 89. Thought I did pretty well until I read another thread, but then, I only have boosters and promos - these guys had all the expansions (of which I haven't broken down and gotten any yet...)
UncleBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 07:39 PM   #4
SolemnGolem
 
SolemnGolem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default Re: Return of "Cheat"

Another question regarding Cheat.

If you have no Big items, and you Cheat in a Big item that's usable by only one race, does the Cheat eliminate both the race limitation AND the Big size limitation?

In a game last year, one of my players tried to Cheat in a Big item usable by only one race, and we let her. But I warned her that she would not be able to use another Big item, because the cheated item is still Big.

She objected to this ruling and said that the Cheat eliminates all limitations. Her rationale was that if she already had another Big item before attempting to Cheat this item into her pool, the second item's "Big" classification would be ignored.

My counter ruling was that Cheat basically functions to let you bring an item into play without worrying about limitations in playing that item. It does not function as a "pretend this item doesn't exist" card when calculating after-arising items or limitations.

Which ruling is correct?

(In the end my ruling won, because I was the owner of the deck in question, as per Munchkin instruction rules. But this result only came about after a very heated argument which went well beyond the actual rules dispute and included personal attacks - after which I quietly decided I would never play Munchkin with this particular player again.)
SolemnGolem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 07:46 PM   #5
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Return of "Cheat"

She's right. The cheated item is still Big, but you get to ignore all restrictions on the item. Therefore, when she tries to play another Big item, she is still ignoring the restriction on the other one.

I want to get a Cheat card on the Matching Set of Equipment from Munchkin 8 very badly.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 08:12 PM   #6
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Return of "Cheat"

The easiest rule of thumb to apply here is to see if, after you play the new card, your setup is still valid.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 09:22 PM   #7
UncleBob
 
UncleBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southern Illinois
Default Re: Return of "Cheat"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bampop View Post
I want to get a Cheat card on the Matching Set of Equipment from Munchkin 8 very badly.
Sounds like the "Rules are for Losers" card from The Guild Booster would come very much in handy here - acts just like a Cheat card, but can be moved as often as you like. So, you could use it for the entire game and switch it if you get the Matching Set card, instead of having to hold it in your hand and risk letting it go to waste.

*edit* - So, what if you use the Cheat card (or some variant) with The Mysterious Magenta Moat? Usually, when I play a Cheat card, I have it slightly under the item card to show that it's the card being cheat'd. I suppose I could stack it so that the Moat was between the cheat and the item...
UncleBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.