Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > Dungeon Fantasy Roleplaying Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2018, 11:54 AM   #1
zuljita
 
zuljita's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Default Share hex with allies?

This came up last session: Can 2 allies choose to occupy the same hex? are there penalties for doing so?

Exploits 34 says I can move *through* an ally's space, but doesn't say I can stop there. Thoughts?
__________________
Running 3 GURPS games: DFRPG, Supers and a weird Evil Hogwart's (ish) game.
Check out my blog: Dungeons on Automatic
zuljita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 12:21 PM   #2
Imbicatus
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Default Re: Share hex with allies?

This has come up before, but this was the relevant post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kromm
See Placing Figures (Exploits, p. 28): "Multiple figures can share a hex, but this puts them in close combat (p. 51), limiting their options." In short, if your hex is already occupied, you're in close and have to use the rules for close. The friend/foe distinction mostly determines whether you have to evade or just pay an extra movement point to exit the hex on the enemy's side.
Imbicatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 06:56 PM   #3
zuljita
 
zuljita's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Default Re: Share hex with allies?

Hey I missed that, thanks!
__________________
Running 3 GURPS games: DFRPG, Supers and a weird Evil Hogwart's (ish) game.
Check out my blog: Dungeons on Automatic
zuljita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2018, 08:13 PM   #4
Rhino
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Rafael, CA
Default Re: Share hex with allies?

If that is indeed Kromm's answer, it makes no sense to me. Exploits at page 51 defines being in close combat explicitly as being in the same hex as a foe. The restrictions on actions resulting therefrom seem based upon that premise, as opposed to being in the same hex with an ally IMO. I think he should revisit this issue.
Rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 01:35 PM   #5
Bruno
 
Bruno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Default Re: Share hex with allies?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhino View Post
If that is indeed Kromm's answer, it makes no sense to me. Exploits at page 51 defines being in close combat explicitly as being in the same hex as a foe.
Exploits at page 28 says it's with "multiple figures", not "foes".

Page 28 is in the context of placing characters on the map.

Page 51 is in the context of discussing combat - if you are in combat with someone, they are a foe, and this section is only discussing foes.

You can't quote rules without context, they don't make sense.
__________________
All about Size Modifier; Grand Unified Hit Location Table
A Wiki for my F2F Group
Bruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.