Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > In Nomine

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2006, 07:08 PM   #1
chuckthedog
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default Question...

Say I have a Cherub of Fire, and he wants to go into the service of another Archangel, and Gabriel has not released the Cherub, does he get both choir attunments (Fire & new AA)?
chuckthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 07:31 PM   #2
iamevan
 
iamevan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Default Re: Question...

I'd say no. If the angel was not released, then I suspect they would get their powers yanked. They way it works for servents of creation in service to another archangel, is that they get their creaton attunments, and not the ones of the archangel they serve.
iamevan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 08:09 PM   #3
chuckthedog
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default Re: Question...

Here's another question- As for Artifacts, if I had a Level 1 coporial artifact that is also a level 2 etherial artifact. I have 3 forces in each realm. What is the target number to divine the location of the artifact?
chuckthedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2006, 08:58 PM   #4
Fade
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default Re: Question...

Also to the point, it would be extremely unusual for an angel to switch service without receiving at least tacit permission from his first Archangel. If the new Archangel is hostile to the old, it's a distant possibility... but Judgment would be highly concerned with any angel who blatantly went against his own Archangel's wishes, and not many other Archangels would want to take someone like that into their service. (This is, of course, assuming that you're not running a Dark campaign where angels flee their own Archangels for the service of someone else. It would certainly be considered a highly hostile act to accept the service of an angel against his current Archangel's wishes.)

Assuming that an agreement has been reached between the two Archangels, though--even a very unhappy and grudging arrangement would still count--what attunements were kept would certainly depend on how the old Archangel felt about the transfer, and about the new Archangel. And then there are those you can't keep; if your Cherub of Fire has the Malakite of Fire attunment and transfers to the service of Lightning, he loses that Malakite of Fire attunement, having neither Choir nor Word to make it 'match up' with his own Heart.
Fade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 08:40 AM   #5
Archangel Beth
In Nomine Line Editor
 
Archangel Beth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Frozen Wastelands of NH
Default Re: Question...

Cherub question:
Quote:
Say I have a Cherub of Fire, and he wants to go into the service of another Archangel, and Gabriel has not released the Cherub, does he get both Choir Attunments (Fire & new AA)?
The answer is a bit complex. He's essentially running Renegade in one way demons do, hopping organizations. And, like demons, this means that the new Superior -- an Archangel in this case -- gets to decide what the new Servitor keeps.

Now, the question then is: how much does this Archangel want to tick off Gabriel? He (or she) is already going to be annoying Gabriel by taking this Servitor without at least her tacit permission. Leaving on any Fire attunements, with no guarantee that the angel is going to be using them to strengthen the Word of Fire (by punishing the cruel), is going to be even more insulting -- and add at least slight injury to it! When someone uses a Word-bound's powers in ways that do not aid the Word, and may even hinder it, it harms the Word-bound. (See the stuff on Words in the Game Master's Guide.)

The politic thing to do, in a case like this, would be to arrange with Soldekai (Gabriel's Chamberlain; see Superiors 3 or The Marches) to have the Cherub placed in service to the new Archangel, and not actually move the Heart immediately or change the dissonance conditions. Then, when Gabriel can be caught in a good mood, actual transfer of the Heart, and what attunements she wants stripped or left, can be discussed. Mind, if the new Archangel is, say, Dominic... Well. Er. There's no politic thing possible here.

Likewise, if the enthusiastic Cherub has already filched its own Heart (much less difficult for angels than demons, though your former fellow Servitors may look at you funny), it's hard to mend the rift, and the Archangel might as well make the best of it.

In a medium to light Brightness campaign, the Archangel will take into consideration how much cruelty the Cherub is going to smite; if the attunement is going to be both useful and the Cherub will still be bashing betrayers (such as being on a special Dominican Djinn-hunting triad?), then the Archangel might well leave the Choir Attunement in place.

((NOTE! If this is part of character backstory, and the character has two Cherub Choir Attunements, one of them costs 5 points -- if the GM allows it at all! The GM could decide that the new Archangel doesn't yet fully trust the Cherub with his Choir Attunement, for instance, since this Cherub clearly ditched his old Archangel so rudely already...))

If the Archangel decides that the Cherub is not going to be helping the Word of (bright) Fire, even tangentially, the more politic thing to do might be to strip any attunements of Fire. If Gabriel disagrees and forgives, she can put them back later.

In a dark Brightness campaign, the Cherub keeps the attunement if it's useful to the Archangel, and the Archangel doesn't think it will call the Cherub's new loyalties into question. The Archangel probably will NOT grant his own Cherub Choir Attunement, though, until a great deal of good service has been performed; the Cherub ran off once before, after all!

ANOTHER NOTE! The Cherub will be dissonant for not getting Gabriel's permission! The last paragraph of p. 95 is: But even aside from applied resonance, a Cherub must never betray his Superior, his friends, his ideals or himself. (Emphasis mine.) Yanking up your Heart without permission is most definitely a betrayal of trust, and the Cherub is entirely likely to get pounced on by his fellow Cherubim (of Fire) for it, his fellow Mercurians (of Fire) for the self-cruelty inherent in becoming dissonant in this way, and various Malakim (of just about everyone) for the dishonor of it all.

It's possible to do all this, and have it as a backstory, but for a Cherub -- especially one of Fire -- it's a bad idea to do it, and it's a fairly angsty backstory.

(Or the GM can handwave. Hey. Whatever helps the campaign.)


Artifact Question:
Quote:
As for Artifacts, if I had a Level 1 corporeal artifact that is also a level 2 ethereal artifact. I have 3 Forces in each realm. What is the target number to divine the location of the artifact?
Use the best target number. In this case, a 5 (Talisman/2 + EthForces 3).
__________________
--Beth
Shamelessly adding Superiors: Lilith and her fiction page to her .sig (the latter is not precisely gaming related)
Archangel Beth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.