Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2013, 06:53 PM   #1
jjm298
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default "Will not attack" monsters

If a monster says that it will not attack specific types of munchkins can the munchkins still choose to fight it? For example can a woman choose to fight a psycho squirrel
jjm298 is offline  
Old 06-05-2013, 08:36 PM   #2
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: "Will not attack" monsters

No they cannot. Such creatures immediately leave the combat if their condition is met.
__________________
My unofficial, but comprehensive Flowcharts: Munchkin: A4 Letter; Munchkin Quest: A4 Letter
Rules Checklist for all Munchkin sets: A4 Letter.

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 06-05-2013 at 08:38 PM. Reason: Removed the less helpful, unnecessary portion, which may or may not have been amusing at best.
Clipper is offline  
Old 06-05-2013, 08:37 PM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: "Will not attack" monsters

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjm298 View Post
If a monster says that it will not attack specific types of munchkins can the munchkins still choose to fight it? For example can a woman choose to fight a psycho squirrel
No, you may not fight Monsters that say they won't attack. So, a Thief can't fight the Lawyer, a female munchkin can't fight either the Amazon or the Psycho Squirrel.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline  
Old 06-23-2013, 01:10 PM   #4
Tony
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tempe, AZ 85284
Default Re: "Will not attack" monsters

So, what happens next when a monster will not attack you? Do you get their treasure, get to look for trouble or loot the room, or do you jump right to charity?
Tony is offline  
Old 06-23-2013, 04:37 PM   #5
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: "Will not attack" monsters

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony View Post
So, what happens next when a monster will not attack you? Do you get their treasure, get to look for trouble or loot the room, or do you jump right to charity?
You do not get the Monster's Treasure since you did not defeat it. However, what happens next depends on the Monster, since most offer some form of alternative activity if they will not attack (the Amazon will give a woman a Treasure, but that's separate from the two Treasures you'd get for defeating it; Lawyer gives Thieves the opportunity to exchange cards). If a Monster that won't attack is the only Monster you're facing, you leave combat and then move on to Charity.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline  
Old 06-23-2013, 06:52 PM   #6
Tony
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Tempe, AZ 85284
Default Re: "Will not attack" monsters

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
You do not get the Monster's Treasure since you did not defeat it. However, what happens next depends on the Monster, since most offer some form of alternative activity if they will not attack (the Amazon will give a woman a Treasure, but that's separate from the two Treasures you'd get for defeating it; Lawyer gives Thieves the opportunity to exchange cards). If a Monster that won't attack is the only Monster you're facing, you leave combat and then move on to Charity.
Thanks! That's how we ended up playing Psycho Squirrel (just wanted to charity for next time since we were not 100% sure).

I had been turned into a female by a curse, and would have won if I had still been a male... I love the crazy and unpredictable things happen in this game!
Tony is offline  
Old 06-28-2013, 11:01 AM   #7
tremorlaine
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Re: "Will not attack" monsters

What is the protocol in this situation?

Psycho Squirrel enhanced with Generic (will return the next time a door is kicked). It was not defeated by player A

Player B kicks down a door and it isn't a Monster so Generic Psycho Squirrel returns to fight Player B by itself.

Player B is a female so Generic Psycho Squirrel chitters and leaves.

Does the Psycho Squirrel return again for Player C or is it just discarded at Player B's combat?
__________________
Current wins via Divine Intervention - 3

Future site of Griffon Gaming
tremorlaine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.