View Single Post
Old 10-03-2017, 03:30 PM   #1
Dragondog
Never Been Pretty
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default Concentrate vs. Concentrate Maneuver

In Spells, the description of spells sometimes says that the caster has to concentrate to get something done, as with Sandstorm, Rider Within, and Control Person as well as Sanctuary, Wizard Eye, and Light.

The way concentrate is described for the first three, it sounds like it's the same as a Concentrate maneuver, which is explicitly needed for Simple Illusion and Hail, while with the latter three it sounds like it could be something less than a Concentrate maneuver.

Could I assume that those that not explicitly call for a Concentrate maneuver don't need it? And that you could choose some other maneuver while concentrating? And that this "lesser" concentrate indicate that you get the -3 penalty to cast another spell rather than the standard -1 penalty?
__________________
Daydreams of a Dragon: My blog
Dragondog is online now   Reply With Quote