View Single Post
Old 08-24-2016, 06:41 PM   #7
David Johnston2
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Default Re: [Sorcery] Afflicting Magic Resistance

Quote:
Originally Posted by VariousRen View Post

If I afflict an enemy (or friendly for that matter) mage with magic resistance, do they immediately lose the ability to cast spells?
No. There are two ways to do it. You can say that because Magic Resistance is a taboo trait for people with some form of magery, the attempt to afflict Resistance on them simply won't work. Under this approach, you can't, say afflict a mundane stone with increased intelligence or increased movement. It has no intelligence to increase and it can't move under it's own power. Those traits are simply incompatible with "being a stone".

Alternately you could rule that it's just taboo to buy Magic Resistance for Mages. You can still afflict them with it or have them wear a Resistance gadget and they will still be able to cast spells. Just at minus whatever the level of Resistance is.
David Johnston2 is offline   Reply With Quote