View Single Post
Old 09-10-2018, 02:52 PM   #2
Aleph's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Central Network
Default Re: Complicated-ish question(Thief Deck)

In general, an ability must completely resolve before another ability can begin to resolve. However, interrupts and triggers are exceptions to this, and jump into the order.

The Lucky Giant's Toe is a triggered ability:
A triggered rule or ability is one that activates automatically when a specific game condition is met. It must resolve during or immediately following the triggering condition. When multiple rules or abilities trigger simultaneously, the active player determines the order in which they resolve.
The Lucky Giant's Toe triggers on the result of a die roll:
If you roll a 5 or 6 when an ability has you roll the die, this deals 1 damage to all Heroes and then you heal 2.
So in this case:

1.The Gambeson of Gambling interrupts the original ability that is dealing 1 damage.

2.Then, when the die roll is complete for the Gambeson, the Lucky Giant's Toe's ability is triggered. After the roll, but before the resulting ability of the roll is determined. (This is because, if the triggered ability were one that modified the roll, it would have to happen before the resulting ability was activated). The Toe does its damage and then its healing now. The Gambeson is not interrupting this ability, so it has no effect here. Other interrupts could be played, though.

3.Once the Toe is finished resolving, we return to the Gambeson, and determine the ability that occurs based on the die roll, and have that ability resolve.

4.Once the Gambeson is finished resolving, we return to the original ability that it interrupted and have it finish resolving.
So no, the Gambeson cannot prevent the damage that is being caused by the Toe's ability, because that damage is occurring before the Gambeson has a chance to activate that part of its ability.
Aleph is offline   Reply With Quote