View Single Post
Old 12-13-2012, 01:31 PM   #5
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: a conundrum of the floating nose and the halitosis potion

When the monster(s) are dead, you can no longer play cards on THEM, but you can still play cards that have an effect on the combat during the "reasonable time" before declaring victory. The most common example of this is wandering in another monster to keep the combat going, but there are other cards that could be played as well to rob the person of their victory (and if I think of any other specific examples, I'll edit them in here).

Here's the relevant FAQ entry:

Quote:
Q. Does the "reasonable time rule" apply to defeating a monster without killing it, or just to killing it?
A. Any sort of defeat. If you defeat it without killing it, other players still have a reasonable time to play an applicable card to frustrate you. However, if you removed the only monster from the fight (with Magic Lamp, for instance), they cannot play Monster Enhancers or other similar cards that affect a specific monster, because there isn't one there to fight, and they can't use any special rules for bringing in monsters (such as the Shark rules from Munchkin Booty) that depend on having a monster in the fight. They can play Wandering Monster to bring in an entirely new monster, though, but they must do it at once.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote