View Single Post
Old 10-04-2017, 12:23 PM   #2
D10
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: In Rio de Janeiro, where it was cyberpunk before it was cool.
Default Re: Concentrate vs. Concentrate Maneuver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragondog View Post
In Spells, the description of spells sometimes says that the caster has to concentrate to get something done, as with Sandstorm, Rider Within, and Control Person as well as Sanctuary, Wizard Eye, and Light.

The way concentrate is described for the first three, it sounds like it's the same as a Concentrate maneuver, which is explicitly needed for Simple Illusion and Hail, while with the latter three it sounds like it could be something less than a Concentrate maneuver.

Could I assume that those that not explicitly call for a Concentrate maneuver don't need it? And that you could choose some other maneuver while concentrating? And that this "lesser" concentrate indicate that you get the -3 penalty to cast another spell rather than the standard -1 penalty?
lots of assumptions there. I personally would assume that concentrate = concentrate manouver. Meaning that you cant control the spells if grappled, suffocating, retching, etc.

Last edited by D10; 10-04-2017 at 03:18 PM.
D10 is offline   Reply With Quote