View Single Post
Old 07-07-2011, 10:55 PM   #3
gjc8
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default Re: Question about cutting a throat.

As a general rule, if someone is unaware, they get no defense at all, and that means unaware of the attack, even if he's aware of the attacker in general (see page 374 in Campaigns).

The garrote rule is an exception. Presumably, using a garrote is somewhat more cumbersome than an actual attack (since it's ONLY available against an unaware target), so perhaps it allows more time to respond.

So, assuming the player isn't in a HUGE hurry, they can take 3 turns to Evaluate, make an All-Out Attack against the hit location of their choice, and the hapless victim wouldn't get a defense.
gjc8 is offline   Reply With Quote