Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Munchkin 101 (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=78)
-   -   Changing / Discarding Race During Combat (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=98958)

Fateros 10-24-2012 04:58 PM

Changing / Discarding Race During Combat
 
As I understand it, a player cannot change, equip, unequip or use any items (with, of course, exceptions to one-use-only items such as potions) during combat.

I understand that a race can be discarded or changed at the Munchkin's choice. Does this mean, then, that this can also happen during combat?

I was unable to locate any specifics regarding this. If it is valid that a player can do this during combat, it wouldn't make much sense to me; how could a player not drop or equip an item during combat, but take the time to change their race / class?

Thanks in advance for your help - I love the game!

Andrew Hackard 10-24-2012 05:21 PM

Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Fateros (Post 1463902)
I understand that a race can be discarded or changed at the Munchkin's choice. Does this mean, then, that this can also happen during combat?

A player may discard a Class or Race at any time. A player may add a Class or Race immediately upon drawing or receiving the card (for instance, as part of Charity) or at any time on that player's turn, including during combat.

MunchkinMan 10-24-2012 06:48 PM

Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat
 
For reference to where this is stated:
  1. p. 6 of the core rules lists the "When to play" for Classes and Races, and it says: "These cards may be played to the table as soon as they are acquired, or at any time during your own turn."
  2. p. 4 of the core rules describes both character stats Race and Class, and those sections say: "You can discard a Race card at any time, even in combat[.]"

Those page numbers are valid for Munchkin and Munchkin Deluxe.

Fateros 10-24-2012 09:46 PM

Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat
 
Thanks so much for the timely and official response, gents!

Fateros 10-25-2012 09:07 AM

Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat
 
A follow-up question:

Hypothetical: I'm a level 9 Dwarven Munchkin who another player (level 6) has accepted help from. Does this mean I can change my race to become an elf after the level 6 player has made the commitment to accept my help, thereby winning the game for taking the winning level by helping someone kill a monster?

Bampop 10-25-2012 10:12 AM

Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat
 
No. You may play a new race only during your own turn, or as soon as you receive the card. It is highly unlikely (but not impossible,) for you to get a race card during someone else's combat in which you are a helper.

DragonRider13 11-19-2012 07:29 AM

Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bampop (Post 1464232)
No. You may play a new race only during your own turn, or as soon as you receive the card. It is highly unlikely (but not impossible,) for you to get a race card during someone else's combat in which you are a helper.

WRONG! The rules specifically say, "You may play a Class or Race card AT ANY TIME!" ANY TIME, DO YOU HEAR ME? ANY TIME!

MunchkinMan 11-19-2012 08:07 AM

Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DragonRider13 (Post 1478504)
WRONG! The rules specifically say, "You may play a Class or Race card AT ANY TIME!" ANY TIME, DO YOU HEAR ME? ANY TIME!

You are incorrect, and your behavior is starting to become aggressive and problematic. Please take some time to cool down before making another post.

For reference, the rules for all the games can be found here. The rules for Munchkin say, "[Race/Class] cards may be played to the table as soon as they are acquired, or at any time during your own turn." They have said the same or similar for over 11 years. The same goes for anything like a Race or Class, such as Powers, Accents, Loyalties, Styles, Trainings and so on. What the rules do say is that you may discard your Race at any time. Perhaps that is where the confusion is coming from.

RWBYWhistler138 04-08-2018 01:35 AM

Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat
 
In munchkin foo like race or class can a style card which is different be played during combat. My brother was losing to a monster then just played haiku fu to keep from getting the bad stuff

Andrew Hackard 04-08-2018 04:26 AM

Re: Changing / Discarding Race During Combat
 
Styles may be played at any time on your turn.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.