Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Munchkin Collectible Card Game (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=97)
-   -   Confused about "Checking for Cheating" (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=171692)

whitecloud197 12-29-2020 03:06 PM

Confused about "Checking for Cheating"
 
Attempted to play my first game today but i'm confused about something with the checking for cheating aspect of the game.

Player one puts down a face down monster, and beside it the allotted gold for hiring the monster to attack.

From my understanding, Player 2 needs to ZAP a card he wants to declare as a defender, THEN we find out if Player 1 is Cheating ? If he is, he takes a point of damage and the monster goes to the Stash. If hes not cheating the attack proceeds?

What about if the defender has no defenders? how does the check for cheating apply ? because the defender just says "Ok I have no defenders, lets see if you lied?"

Majobasil 12-30-2020 08:02 AM

Re: Confused about "Checking for Cheating"
 
You are correct. There’s a risk/reward dynamic happening. Defender has to make the decision to commit to the fight and possibly waste a defender if the attacker was cheating, or commit nothing and possibly take an unmitigated bash in the face by the full force of a monster. Also there are certain other cards and effects that refer to the check for cheating phase.

JimTullis 01-13-2021 09:11 AM

Re: Confused about "Checking for Cheating"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by whitecloud197 (Post 2360293)
Player one puts down a face down monster, and beside it the allotted gold for hiring the monster to attack.

Player one could put down any card, of course if it isn't a monster then it triggers cheating. Also the same with Gold, Player one can commit any amount. This is where the bluffing comes in.
Quote:

Originally Posted by whitecloud197 (Post 2360293)
From my understanding, Player 2 needs to ZAP a card he wants to declare as a defender, THEN we find out if Player 1 is Cheating ? If he is, he takes a point of damage and the monster goes to the Stash. If hes not cheating the attack proceeds?

If Player one was cheating, whatever card he played goes to the stash AND the Gold returns to the purse.
PLUS Player one takes the point of damage.
Quote:

Originally Posted by whitecloud197 (Post 2360293)
What about if the defender has no defenders? how does the check for cheating apply ? because the defender just says "Ok I have no defenders, lets see if you lied?"

YUP. Player one might still have cheated even if they knew the opponent could not defend. Some card effects look for "cheating" and Player one may wish to trigger that.

There is a comprehensive rules document at...
https://munchkinccg.game/gameplay/rules/

ComposognaTum 02-11-2021 11:08 AM

Re: Confused about "Checking for Cheating"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JimTullis (Post 2362631)
Player one could put down any card, of course if it isn't a monster then it triggers cheating. Also the same with Gold, Player one can commit any amount. This is where the bluffing comes in.

If Player one was cheating, whatever card he played goes to the stash AND the Gold returns to the purse.
PLUS Player one takes the point of damage.

YUP. Player one might still have cheated even if they knew the opponent could not defend. Some card effects look for "cheating" and Player one may wish to trigger that.

There is a comprehensive rules document at...
https://munchkinccg.game/gameplay/rules/

Thank you for the link to the guide!Because of my inattention, I searched for a long time.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.