Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (
-   Other Munchkin Games (
-   -   Multiple Monster Hit Question (

pitfal 08-18-2012 01:06 AM

Multiple Monster Hit Question
This just came up in our game. Friend had 3/4 health. He ended up in a room with four different monsters and could not win. He has several healing potions. Here is the question; Do the hits from these four monsters happen at the same time killing him immediately, or do they happen one at a time allowing him to use a health potion to save his life?

He was clearly in the in the lead when this happened and the table made the decision that it would insta kill him. He argued that he could heal out of this situation. Anyone have an official answer on this?

The mood changed quite a bit with this decision.

Thank you in advance.

Clipper 08-18-2012 01:13 AM

Re: Multiple Monster Hit Question
The hits that he takes for losing combat happen at the same time. If he survived those (which he won't in this case) he would have a chance to use his potions before attempting to run away from each monster, in case their Bad Stuff would cause more hits.

You ruled correctly.

I have seen this officially ruled upon in past threads, but it is a bit hard to think of the search term to find a link for it...

pitfal 08-18-2012 01:16 AM

Re: Multiple Monster Hit Question
Thanks for the quick reply. Interested to see if anyone disagrees.

MIB 9966 08-18-2012 06:51 AM

Re: Multiple Monster Hit Question
I thought I saw something too, but my Google-Fu only found this which implies the hits are simultaneous, but not explicit. I think we'd have to find soeone with better search fu than me right now or MM or Andrew chime in.


The Bad Stuff is in addition to whatever you get from losing the combat. And that's 1 hit for every Monster in the combat, not just 1 hit for losing the combat, so if you're facing 3 Monsters and you lose, you better hope you've got more than 3 hits left or you won't even have to bother with trying to roll to Run Away.
Obviously, you can try to heal right after the first set of hits, but it's not clear that the hits are simultaneous from this post and I can't find anything more concrete.

MunchkinMan 08-18-2012 07:12 AM

Re: Multiple Monster Hit Question
Good search options are "healing" or "health potion." Both those search terms will find at least one post by me and one by Andrew that says once you're dead, you can't use an Item to give you some Hits back (unless it says otherwise, of course).

Clipper 08-18-2012 08:12 AM

Re: Multiple Monster Hit Question
Thanks MM, but we were trying to find something else. However, one of those search terms did help me find it, anyway. Here's a post where you support that there is no valid time for a Healing Potion to be played until you have taken all your hits for losing the combat. You thus can't choose to take them one at a time and play cards in-between.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.