Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Munchkin 101 (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=78)
-   -   Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=113362)

Munchkinator 07-15-2013 02:37 PM

Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
OK, so in Munchkin Cthulu, I know that if you draw or are given (as charity) a Cultist card, then you have to play it and become a Cultist. I understand that Cultist cards get their own discard pile.

Now, some cards make you a Cultist, such as meeting H.P. Munchcraft. What if there are no Cultist cards in the discards?

Do you wait until a Cultist card is discarded and then automatically take it and replace your class with it?

Do you replace your current class with an imaginary "Cultist Card" and so are a Cultist - just without the card - until a Cultist card is discarded?

Or do you just avoid becoming a Cultist at all since there are no Cultist cards available?

bonetm 07-15-2013 03:06 PM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Munchkinator (Post 1613084)
OK, so in Munchkin Cthulu, I know that if you draw or are given (as charity) a Cultist card, then you have to play it and become a Cultist. I understand that Cultist cards get their own discard pile.

Now, some cards make you a Cultist, such as meeting H.P. Munchcraft. What if there are no Cultist cards in the discards?

The Munchkin Cthulhu Rules say what to do in that case:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Munchkin Cthulhu Rules
When you discard a Cultist card for any reason, put it in a separate discard pile, not in the regular Door discards, and do not count this pile as “discards” for any other purpose, because:
If any card tells you “Become a Cultist,” and there is a discarded Cultist card waiting for you, then you must take it. If there is no Cultist card, you escaped . . . this time. If you were already a Cultist, there is no further effect; you don’t take another card.

Also, if you draw or given a Cultist card, you are in no obligation to play it. The only rule is that, once you are a Cultist, you can't discard it voluntarily.

Andrew Hackard 07-15-2013 03:07 PM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Munchkinator (Post 1613084)
OK, so in Munchkin Cthulu, I know that if you draw or are given (as charity) a Cultist card, then you have to play it and become a Cultist.

This is not Not NOT the case. I really want to find the person who keeps telling people this is the rule and cut off his . . . access to Munchkin players.

The only time you are required to become a Cultist is when a card says you are. And if there are no Cultist cards in the discards when that card says so, you STILL don't become a Cultist.

Munchkinator 07-15-2013 06:30 PM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard (Post 1613127)
This is not Not NOT the case. I really want to find the person who keeps telling people this is the rule and cut off his . . . access to Munchkin players.

The only time you are required to become a Cultist is when a card says you are. And if there are no Cultist cards in the discards when that card says so, you STILL don't become a Cultist.

Oh, OK! Thanks for all the help.

In his defense, he'd never played Cthulu before either, so we were all new (even though it was his game).

One follow up question: If I have the Cult Membership Card (but am not a "real" Cultist) and a card tells me to become a Cultist and there IS a Cultist card already in the discards, can I just say, "I'm already a Cultist, so that doesn't apply," and so escape?

Clipper 07-15-2013 08:23 PM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Munchkinator (Post 1613255)
One follow up question: If I have the Cult Membership Card (but am not a "real" Cultist) and a card tells me to become a Cultist and there IS a Cultist card already in the discards, can I just say, "I'm already a Cultist, so that doesn't apply," and so escape?

That one sort of depends on the card text. If a card just says to 'become a Cultist', then you would become a real one and lose the ability to use the Cult Membership Card unless you can find a way to lose your Cultist Class. If the card said 'if you are not already a Cultist, become a Cultist', then you would be able to claim you are one and thus would not need to become one; although if the same card said something else happens instead if you are a Cultist, then you must choose if you want to suffer that effect or to take the Cultist card.

ProfessorBrains 10-29-2013 11:34 PM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Munchkinator (Post 1613255)

If I have the Cult Membership Card (but am not a "real" Cultist) and a card tells me to become a Cultist and there IS a Cultist card already in the discards, can I just say, "I'm already a Cultist, so that doesn't apply," and so escape?

I don't think this is answered yet, I think that interpretation would hinge on saying "one of the benefits of being a cultist is you don't become a cultist when a card tells you to." Doesn't sound reasonable to me, I think you'd have to become a cultist even though you have a Cult Membership Card.

What's the Official Verdict?

Andrew Hackard 10-29-2013 11:40 PM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ProfessorBrains (Post 1670144)
What's the Official Verdict?

Clipper's interpretation is correct.

Jack Of Clubs 11-03-2013 11:39 PM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Something along the same tack that came up at one of our games:
If there is a Cultist card in the (Cultist) discard pile, and somebody wants to become a Cultist "just because", can they do so?
(I ruled no, but the guy whined about it pretty bad.)

DoomedDuck 11-03-2013 11:52 PM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jack Of Clubs (Post 1672842)
Something along the same tack that came up at one of our games:
If there is a Cultist card in the (Cultist) discard pile, and somebody wants to become a Cultist "just because", can they do so?
(I ruled no, but the guy whined about it pretty bad.)

I'm assuming he's trying to become one by playing a card that says to become one? If yes, then you were correct. If he had a Cultist card in his hand then he could have played it and became a Cultist.

Clipper 11-04-2013 12:29 AM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Yeah, you can't just take a Cultist card out of the discards to become one without a card that tells you to become a Cultist.

MunchkinMan 11-04-2013 08:29 AM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DoomedDuck (Post 1672846)
I'm assuming he's trying to become one by playing a card that says to become one? If yes, then you were correct. If he had a Cultist card in his hand then he could have played it and became a Cultist.

That is incorrect. In Munchkin Cthulhu, you are expected to discard Cultist cards into a separate pile so that when a card tells you to become a Cultist, you can take one from that special discard pile.

Regardless, what the OP said was that the player was trying to just take one from the special Cultist discard pile because he wanted to become a Cultist, not because he was using a card that told him to do so. In that case, the OP was correct that it can not be done.

DoomedDuck 11-04-2013 11:25 AM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Apologies on that mishap. I apparently can't read because I thought he said "isn't a Cultist card in the discards" which caused me to not think about what he meant by "just because".

Jack Of Clubs 11-04-2013 04:58 PM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Thanks, everyone, for clearing that up.
Maybe we'll make it a house rule -- the "I Plead Insanity" rule?

Clipper 11-04-2013 06:48 PM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jack Of Clubs (Post 1673313)
Thanks, everyone, for clearing that up.
Maybe we'll make it a house rule -- the "I Plead Insanity" rule?

I wouldn't recommend it, given the other special rules for Cultists. For example, if the only player that is not a Cultist also has the highest level, he could just take the card and state he wins with that house rule.

Jack Of Clubs 11-05-2013 04:56 PM

Re: Becoming a Cultist and Munchkin Cthulu
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Clipper (Post 1673386)
I wouldn't recommend it, given the other special rules for Cultists. For example, if the last remaining player is a Cultist and has the highest level, he could just take the card and state he wins with that house rule.

Good point. I think we'll duck that one instead.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.