Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Munchkin Quest (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=72)
-   -   Azurite Hex-A-Hedron (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=100344)

kosbour 11-20-2012 08:16 PM

Azurite Hex-A-Hedron
 
Can I roll both Jumbo d6s even if I roll only one regular 6-sided die and keep the result from either Jumbo d6?

In case I roll one die for the monsters and one or more dice for me in combat do I roll both Jumbo d6s and use (if I choose to do so) the result of the "Monster" Jumbo d6 to replace only the die rolled for the monsters side and the result of the "Munchkin" Jumbo d6 to replace any of my dice OR is the distinction between "Monster" and "Munchkin" Jumbo d6 useless in this case and I can use the result of either Jumbo d6 to replace either regular d6?

Clipper 11-20-2012 08:46 PM

Re: Azurite Hex-A-Hedron
 
The way the card is worded, I'm pretty sure you roll both Blue Jumbo d6s regardless of how many dice you would be rolling otherwise.

The wording is definitely clear that the result on either dice can replace any regular die roll. The type of dice does appear to be irrelevant. Consider that the power can be used when searching too, or at any other time you roll a d6.

In a combat with your own monster/s, you roll once for yourself and once for your monsters. You don't roll them all at the same time. You'd be able to roll the Jumbos both for your roll and the monsters' roll.

Andrew Hackard 11-20-2012 08:59 PM

Re: Azurite Hex-A-Hedron
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Clipper (Post 1479598)
In a combat with your own monster/s, you roll once for yourself and once for your monsters. You don't roll them all at the same time. You'd be able to roll the Jumbos both for your roll and the monsters' roll.

This is not correct. Die rolls for players and monsters are considered to be simultaneous, even if logistics require that they not be. You must choose one or the other roll to use the Jumbo d6 for.

Clipper 11-20-2012 09:31 PM

Re: Azurite Hex-A-Hedron
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard (Post 1479609)
This is not correct. Die rolls for players and monsters are considered to be simultaneous, even if logistics require that they not be. You must choose one or the other roll to use the Jumbo d6 for.

In that case, shouldn't the correct method be to roll all the dice, then roll the two Jumbos, then decide which dice to replace, if any? For example:

The situation: Player A, with the Azurite Hex-A-Hedron, is rolling 1 dice and he is fighting a Fearsome monster who is rolling two dice and is of his colour. They have equal combat strengths before the rolls.

A rolls: 2
A's monster rolls: 4 6
A rolls the Blue Jumbo d6s and gets: 1 6
A pays 600 gold coins to replace his 2 with the 6 and the monster's 6 with the 1 and hence wins the battle (by 1).

This seems to justify the condition of rolling the dice simultaneously, but you said you have to choose one roll or the other, which would make the above illegal.

Andrew Hackard 11-20-2012 10:31 PM

Re: Azurite Hex-A-Hedron
 
I misunderstood what you were saying; I thought you were saying that you could roll your dice and the Jumbos and then roll the monsters' dice and the Jumbos AGAIN. And I added a misstatement of my own, to boot.

Your second post is entirely correct.

Clipper 11-20-2012 10:41 PM

Re: Azurite Hex-A-Hedron
 
Oh, I admit that I did get it wrong in my first response too, so you didn't misunderstand me, at least.

kosbour 11-21-2012 09:38 AM

Re: Azurite Hex-A-Hedron
 
Actually, during the last game we played, we encountered exactly the same situation.

Assuming player A rolls only one die for himself and none for the monster, can he still roll both Jumbo d6s and choose the result of either one to replace his one regular d6?

Clipper 11-21-2012 03:48 PM

Re: Azurite Hex-A-Hedron
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kosbour (Post 1479901)
Actually, during the last game we played, we encountered exactly the same situation.

Assuming player A rolls only one die for himself and none for the monster, can he still roll both Jumbo d6s and choose the result of either one to replace his one regular d6?

I can now answer definitively: yes.

Andrew Hackard 11-21-2012 04:20 PM

Re: Azurite Hex-A-Hedron
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Clipper (Post 1480027)
I can now answer definitively: yes.

You really can't, because you are neither a forum mod nor SJ Games staff. We're the only ones allowed to make definitive statements. You can offer very firm opinions, but that's as far as you're able to go.

Mister Ed 11-21-2012 04:40 PM

Re: Azurite Hex-A-Hedron
 
He can offer YOUR (or MunchkinMan's) definitive answers, though, where such exist, right? I'm assuming that's what he meant. (Usually he links to them, but since it is in this very thread, I'm assuming he thought that would be overkill.)

That goes a bit beyond offering a strong opinion, though I guess in that case, HE isn't really the one answering. :-)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.