Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Other Munchkin Games (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=86)
-   -   Questions about the Room Icons, and Searching (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=134409)

TheRaven81 04-15-2015 11:51 AM

Questions about the Room Icons, and Searching
 
Tried to search for this but search came up empty.

For Room Icons, on pg. 9 of the PDF(I'm referring to the PDF since my copy is another "1st edition, 1st printing", so I look there to see what's current) it says: "Combat and Search rolls (see p. 7) are modified by the icons."

So am I to understand correctly, that:
  • the green Icons on p. 9 only affect Combat, and not Searching too, and
  • the Icons related to Searching, on p. 7, are the only icons that affect Searching?
About Searching, I noticed that the Search chart goes to "11 or more". But if you're rolling only 1 die I didn't see how you could get any of the higher results on the chart. Then I read the Rules again, on p. 7, about searching, and it says at the end of the first paragraph: "Roll your six-sided dice to Search."
It says "dice", plural, as in more than 1. So are you supposed to roll both of your d6 for your initial Search Roll, and then if there's any Search modifiers(from icons or items), apply those afterwards? Or is there something I'm totally missing?

Andrew Hackard 04-15-2015 11:56 AM

Re: Questions about the Room Icons, and Searching
 
The Room icons do modify Search rolls. You roll one six-sided die to Search unless a Room icon or other effect adds or removes dice.

TheRaven81 04-15-2015 12:17 PM

Re: Questions about the Room Icons, and Searching
 
OK so if that is the case then for sake of example lets say I'm in the Armoury. The Armoury has a green Warrior icon, and a green Dwarf icon. If I decide to search, and I'm both a Dwarf and a Warrior, then am I rolling 3d6 (1 for initial search roll, +1 for Warrior icon, +1 for Dwarf Icon)?

MunchkinMan 04-15-2015 12:18 PM

Re: Questions about the Room Icons, and Searching
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TheRaven81 (Post 1891187)
OK so if that is the case then for sake of example lets say I'm in the Armoury. The Armoury has a green Warrior icon, and a green Dwarf icon. If I decide to search, and I'm both a Dwarf and a Warrior, then am I rolling 3d6 (1 for initial search roll, +1 for Warrior icon, +1 for Dwarf Icon)?

That is correct. If there were a room that had a green Warrior icon and a red Dwarf Icon, you'd be back to rolling only 1 six-sider.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.