Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Munchkin (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   How much stuff can a hireling carry? (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=58378)

jaholen 05-14-2009 03:35 PM

How much stuff can a hireling carry?
 
Hi again
simple question - How much stuff can a hireling carry?

(hope the answer is as simple)

Andrew Hackard 05-14-2009 03:58 PM

Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?
 
Assuming you're talking about the standard Hireling from the original Munchkin set, he can carry one extra Big item for you, period.

jaholen 05-14-2009 04:43 PM

Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?
 
I was thinking more like any hireling

Cheddar Limbo 05-14-2009 06:10 PM

Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?
 
Well, depending on which sets you're talking about, certain hirelings have certain restrictions and abilities that affect what they can and cannot carry, so the short answer is: read the card and it should tell you what the hireling can do.

MunchkinMan 05-14-2009 09:25 PM

Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?
 
If a Hireling carries anything, it's one Item. It says as much on every Hireling card that can carry an Item. Hirelings only have the abilities written on the card above and beyond the basic rules. The only thing with respect to carrying Items in those rules is what happens when a Hireling carrying an Item goes away.

jaholen 05-15-2009 01:52 AM

Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?
 
conserning numbers - hirelings can carry one item (if the card doesn't say otherwise)?

MunchkinMan 05-15-2009 05:36 AM

Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jaholen
conserning numbers - hirelings can carry one item (if the card doesn't say otherwise)?

Not exactly. If a Hireling can carry an Item, it can carry only what its card says. If you're talking only about Hirelings found in Munchkin, then there aren't any, that I can find, that carry more than one Item. Hirelings don't carry Items just because they are Hirelings, which is what I feel, based on your questions, is a misconception you have. Maybe I'm wrong, but that's the feeling I'm getting.

At any rate: In all of Munchkindom, I can find only two "Hirelings" that carry stuff, and they aren't part of the original Munchkin fantasy genre. Those two are the Loud Hairy Alien Sidekick from Star Munchkin and the Zombie Minion from Munchkin Bites. They also happen to be the only ones that carry (and use) more than one Item.

jaholen 05-15-2009 07:50 AM

Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?
 
Let me rephrase the question

how many items can a hireling carry (the regular hireling, elf hireling ect)? can he carry all the same Items that the character would be able to carry (armor, steed ect).

sorry for the confusion ... (and for the coming confusion :P)

MunchkinMan 05-15-2009 10:32 AM

Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jaholen
Let me rephrase the question

how many items can a hireling carry (the regular hireling, elf hireling ect)? can he carry all the same Items that the character would be able to carry (armor, steed ect).

sorry for the confusion ... (and for the coming confusion :P)

If a Hireling can carry an Item or more, it is stated on the card. It will very likely state what kind of Item and how many, as well. For example, the Gnome Hireling can carry and use ONE Item that is usable by a gnome. This does not mean an Item only usable by a gnome, but any Item usable by a gnome. The only Items a Gnome Hireling can not use are Items that say "Not usable by Gnome." It could be Armor, Headgear, Footgear, require a Hand or two, or not have any "slot" requirements at all, but that Hireling is carrying and using it, so it does not count against your "slots." A Hireling can not have a Steed because you can have, normally, only one in play, and the Hireling rules do not address this so they do not provide an allowance for you to assume your Hireling could use a Steed.

Another example: The Hireling from Munchkin and Munchkin 3 carries an extra Big Item for you, but can't use it (with one exception being the Siege Engine). In other words, that Hireling does nothing more than allow you to have a second Big Item, but you still have to have the open "slots" available to use it.

And, the final example: The Loud Hairy Alien Sidekick from Star Munchkin has 4 arms, which means it technically uses 4 Hands of Items for you. Yes, this means that the Items can only be Hand Items. The Loud Hairy Alien can not use Armor, Headgear, Footgear or any other Items that do not use Hands.

jaholen 05-15-2009 03:32 PM

Re: How much stuff can a hireling carry?
 
this answer was quite thorough, I think you covered it all. Thanks.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.