Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Munchkin 101 (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=78)
-   -   Can a Thief steal from a Thief? (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=95486)

MunchkinAddictT 08-30-2012 10:20 PM

Can a Thief steal from a Thief?
 
We played tonight, the THERE'S ONLY ONE OF ME card got discarded early on in the game. We have the base game , clerical errors, need for steed, unnatural axe, and a couple of packs of enhancer cards. We had 2 Thieves. Can they steal from one another or is that considered professional courtesy??? Unfortunately, the Helm of Peripheral Vision never came up :(

Clipper 08-30-2012 10:52 PM

Re: Can a Thief steal from a Thief?
 
Yes, they can, of course.

You should never try to apply text from one card (Lawyers I assume) to other cards unless the rules tell you to, especially when it's flavour text.

Flemroid 08-30-2012 11:56 PM

Re: Can a Thief steal from a Thief?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Clipper (Post 1433442)
Yes, they can, of course.

You should never try to apply text from one card (Lawyers I assume) to other cards unless the rules tell you to, especially when it's flavour text.

Is the Lawyer text considered flavor text? Those are actual rules of the Lawyer, a thief cannot fight him?

bonetm 08-31-2012 12:14 AM

Re: Can a Thief steal from a Thief?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Flemroid (Post 1433458)
Is the Lawyer text considered flavor text? Those are actual rules of the Lawyer, a thief cannot fight him?

Clipper was refering to the "professional courtesy" sentence, which is obviously a joke.

MunchkinAddictT 08-31-2012 12:33 AM

Re: Can a Thief steal from a Thief?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MunchkinAddictT (Post 1433429)
We had 2 Thieves. Can they steal from one another or is that considered professional courtesy??? (

sorry, I come from the legal field so I love the professional courtesy idea. I just didn't know if they could steal from each other. Tonight was the first night we had 2 actual ruthless thieves! Some of our group tends to be un-active thieves. My husband.... is the thief extraordinaire!! We actually teamed up against him last week and used Annihilation card on his Thief Class card!!! (can you believe he drew another within a few rounds!?)

MunchkinMan 08-31-2012 06:50 AM

Re: Can a Thief steal from a Thief?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MunchkinAddictT (Post 1433473)
sorry, I come from the legal field so I love the professional courtesy idea. I just didn't know if they could steal from each other. Tonight was the first night we had 2 actual ruthless thieves! Some of our group tends to be un-active thieves. My husband.... is the thief extraordinaire!! We actually teamed up against him last week and used Annihilation card on his Thief Class card!!! (can you believe he drew another within a few rounds!?)

Neither card text nor the rules provide a clause which says a Thief can't steal from a Thief, so there is no reason to assume such a rule exists, especially because one card (Lawyers) makes a rule statement, not in spite of it.

Flemroid 08-31-2012 09:12 AM

Re: Can a Thief steal from a Thief?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bonetm (Post 1433466)
Clipper was refering to the "professional courtesy" sentence, which is obviously a joke.

Sorry, was very late that makes more sense now.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.