Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Munchkin Collectible Card Game (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=97)
-   -   Complicated-ish question(Thief Deck) (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=159576)

Malkavman 09-09-2018 03:33 PM

Complicated-ish question(Thief Deck)
 
When using the Gambeson of Gambling to avoid damage, and you roll a 6 while the Lucky Giant's Toe is in play, provided that only one damage was being dealt from the original source, does the roll of 6 also prevent the damage from the Toe? Basically, is there a specific order of damage/zap/roll/toe ability?

Aleph 09-10-2018 03:52 PM

Re: Complicated-ish question(Thief Deck)
 
In general, an ability must completely resolve before another ability can begin to resolve. However, interrupts and triggers are exceptions to this, and jump into the order.

The Lucky Giant's Toe is a triggered ability:
Quote:

Trigger
A triggered rule or ability is one that activates automatically when a specific game condition is met. It must resolve during or immediately following the triggering condition. When multiple rules or abilities trigger simultaneously, the active player determines the order in which they resolve.
The Lucky Giant's Toe triggers on the result of a die roll:
Quote:

If you roll a 5 or 6 when an ability has you roll the die, this deals 1 damage to all Heroes and then you heal 2.
So in this case:

1.The Gambeson of Gambling interrupts the original ability that is dealing 1 damage.

2.Then, when the die roll is complete for the Gambeson, the Lucky Giant's Toe's ability is triggered. After the roll, but before the resulting ability of the roll is determined. (This is because, if the triggered ability were one that modified the roll, it would have to happen before the resulting ability was activated). The Toe does its damage and then its healing now. The Gambeson is not interrupting this ability, so it has no effect here. Other interrupts could be played, though.

3.Once the Toe is finished resolving, we return to the Gambeson, and determine the ability that occurs based on the die roll, and have that ability resolve.

4.Once the Gambeson is finished resolving, we return to the original ability that it interrupted and have it finish resolving.
So no, the Gambeson cannot prevent the damage that is being caused by the Toe's ability, because that damage is occurring before the Gambeson has a chance to activate that part of its ability.

Malkavman 07-08-2019 09:39 PM

Re: Complicated-ish question(Thief Deck)
 
On a related-ish note; can the Gambeson be used to avoid the damage caused by the Toe triggering from a die roll from another source, effectively healing 2 instead of the net gain of one? The wording of the Toe seems to support this idea, as the damage occurs, then the healing occurs, and the Gambeson's ability is an interrupt.

Aleph 07-09-2019 11:23 AM

Re: Complicated-ish question(Thief Deck)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Malkavman (Post 2273073)
Can the Gambeson be used to avoid the damage caused by the Toe triggering from a die roll from another source, effectively healing 2 instead of the net gain of one? The wording of the Toe seems to support this idea, as the damage occurs, then the healing occurs, and the Gambeson's ability is an interrupt.

Yes. The Gambeson's Zap ability is an interrupt, so it would be possible to zap it and interrupt the Toe's ability. Yes, this could cause a further triggering of the Toe if you roll a 5-6 on the Gambeson's die roll.

Majobasil 07-11-2019 11:31 AM

Re: Complicated-ish question(Thief Deck)
 
Aleph - it sounds like you need to come play with us via Skype. :-)

Brandon and me did a Toe vs. Toe match via Skype and will post highlights from the shenanigans in the near future.

P.S. Aleph, thanks so much for continuing to be active in this forum. For those of us who still adore this game and play often, we very much appreciate your time and expertise.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.