Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Munchkin (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   FAQ query (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=94167)

RoboSnuf 08-06-2012 10:15 AM

FAQ query
 
Hi all

Have just been reading the FAQs and have come across some answers that appear contradictory - only I've not played the relevant expansions or seen the actual cards yet so was hoping someone could advise? (am fairly new to Munchkin but think it's awesome and am hoping to pick up all of the expansions for the core set so am keen to understand as much as possible!)

Q&A as follows:
====================
De-Ranged
Q. The Chicken Steed says that my attempts to Run Away succeed automatically. If I face a monster that says cannot be outrun (like the Crabs), whose ability wins?
A. A monster that cannot be outrun will always trump any ability that lets you Run Away automatically, because the monster prevents the attempt.
&
Half Horse, Will Travel
Q. The Avatar says you automatically Run Away from all monsters if you lose the combat. What about monsters that say "escape is impossible"?
A. You get away from them, too. They're too busy trying to chase the Avatar.
====================

Is this inconsistency to do with an obvious difference between the 'Chicken Steed' card and the 'Avatar' card?

Thanks all

- Snuf

RL 08-06-2012 10:49 AM

Re: FAQ query
 
I would say that the difference is in how you escape. With the Avatar, the monster still catches something, it just happens that it's not you.

Clipper 08-06-2012 02:59 PM

Re: FAQ query
 
The inconsistency has been addressed in the past:
Quote:

Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard (Post 1371492)
We are never going to address every possible conflict between cards or between a card and the rules. There are too many interactions and the FAQ is not intended to be comprehensive -- IMO, it's too long as it is. The Avatar answer does contradict the Chicken Steed answer, but that's not a flaw in the FAQ; that's a case where there's an exception to the general case, and it is properly documented in the exception, not in the general rule.

Now please drop this and move on.

So yeah, they are inconsistent, but Avatar is the only card that breaks the general rule.

RoboSnuf 08-06-2012 03:13 PM

Re: FAQ query
 
That's great, thanks both for your responses. I did try and search for the subject before posting - but clearly not as thoroughly as I could have!

RL 08-06-2012 04:36 PM

Re: FAQ query
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RoboSnuf (Post 1418661)
That's great, thanks both for your responses. I did try and search for the subject before posting - but clearly not as thoroughly as I could have!

Searching the forums is hard, especially because there are over a million posts dating back some 8 years. I get pretty decent results, however, when I use Google as described in the Critical Links and Useful Information thread.

Clipper 08-06-2012 04:41 PM

Re: FAQ query
 
Yeah, that one would be pretty hard to search for too, so don't feel bad. I knew where to find it in this case, as I was the one being chastised for being too nit picky.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.