Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Munchkin Collectible Card Game (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=97)
-   -   Ouchian Bargain with reduced cost mischief. (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=157731)

DarthBayne 06-04-2018 12:38 AM

Ouchian Bargain with reduced cost mischief.
 
Hello, there!

I've come across a scenario where I am not sure the outcome. I'm not quite sure about the interaction of Ouchain Bargain and any cost-reduced spell. Let's say I were were to play Blood Geyser, and I use Give Blood 1 to reduce it from a gold cost of 3 to a gold cost of 1, but I interrupt my own spell and play Ouchian Bargain to take damage equal to my Blood Geyser, then take gold equal to that damage, do I take 1 damage or 3 damage?

Also same-ish question, but if I Ouchian Bargain against a Rain of Death that I had reduced with Human Wizard's ability, would I take 2 damage or 1 damage from Ouchian Bargain?

Absolutely love this game! Thank you!

jarAGGIE05 06-04-2018 09:55 AM

Re: Ouchian Bargain with reduced cost mischief.
 
I asked the same question in the Munchkin CCG discord and was told that since it says "Use when you pay for a treachery", the damage/gold you take is the amount you actually payed for it. So to give the solution to the scenarios you described, if you play Blood Geyser and give blood 1, you'll be paying 1 gold and you'd take 1 damage and 1 gold if you play Ouchian Bargain. If you reduce the cost for Rain of Death, you'll take 1 damage/gold when you play Ouchian Bargain.

Aleph 06-04-2018 11:37 AM

Re: Ouchian Bargain with reduced cost mischief.
 
Typically, when a card refers to the Gold Cost of another in-play card, it means the modified gold cost, which is what was paid to bring the card into play. Once a card goes out of play, all modifications are cleared, and you'd be referring to the printed value (as there aren't currently any cards that modify the cost of out of play cards).

unstashed 06-14-2018 07:09 PM

Re: Ouchian Bargain with reduced cost mischief.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Aleph (Post 2180296)
Typically, when a card refers to the Gold Cost of another in-play card, it means the modified gold cost, which is what was paid to bring the card into play. Once a card goes out of play, all modifications are cleared, and you'd be referring to the printed value (as there aren't currently any cards that modify the cost of out of play cards).

I don't think this is the case, since if you use Staff of Magic to reduce Kaboom! to 3 gold then play Forked!, you still need to pay 5 gold for the Forked! version of Kaboom!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.