Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (
-   Munchkin 101 (
-   -   Wizard's ability for escape roll (

gmoukou 06-08-2014 02:52 PM

Wizard's ability for escape roll
my question is about when a wizard, who is losing a battle with one monster, (but does not want to charm it) is about to roll dice for his escape.

a) if the roll fails, can he throw cards from his hand to add extra chances to his previous roll and afterwards successfully escape?
b) he first throws away as much cards from his hand he wants/can, to add chances, and THEN he rolls?

Andrew Hackard 06-08-2014 03:03 PM

Re: Wizard's ability for escape roll
It depends on when your Wizard card was printed. Before 2010, the Flight Spell ability worked like (b), but we changed the rules in 2010 so it works like (a) instead. If you're trying to be most current, therefore, go with (a).

gmoukou 06-08-2014 03:19 PM

Re: Wizard's ability for escape roll
so with the new rules you first roll the dice and if the outcome is not the desired one you throw way your cards.
thanks a lot!

MunchkinMan 06-09-2014 05:53 AM

Re: Wizard's ability for escape roll
In either case, the Wizard says "cards" not "hand cards," which means that you can discard cards that are in play as well those from your hand to increase your bonus. That way, even if you have one card in your hand, you could also discard from cards in play to get up to a +3 bonus to your Run Away roll.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.