Steve Jackson Games Forums

Steve Jackson Games Forums (http://forums.sjgames.com/index.php)
-   Munchkin Collectible Card Game (http://forums.sjgames.com/forumdisplay.php?f=97)
-   -   Rule question - Gambeson of Gambling (http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=164267)

Majobasil 06-22-2019 09:31 PM

Rule question - Gambeson of Gambling
 
Can this card be Zapped and used without being in response to damage?

The cost of the card is simply to zap it. Zapping on this card allows one to roll the dice.

So can it simply be Zapped to force a die roll?

Malkavman 06-22-2019 11:40 PM

Re: Rule question - Gambeson of Gambling
 
From the rules on the CCG website:

"Armor has abilities that relate to damage that is being dealt (dealing, preventing, and healing)."

Which means that armor abilities must be in response to damage.

The Gambeson is also an interrupt, so there has to be a previous action to interrupt.

This is my interpretation, and I will stand by it unless corrected by a higher up in the Munchkin Braintrust; at which time I would slink off and wallow in my wrongness.

Majobasil 06-24-2019 09:40 AM

Re: Rule question - Gambeson of Gambling
 
Id greatly appreciate an official response from a mod or SJ Games employee !

Aleph 06-24-2019 05:03 PM

Re: Rule question - Gambeson of Gambling
 
From the Abilities Section of the rules:

Quote:

II.A.1. Abilities - Either player may activate abilities during any player's turn after the unzap step is complete. Abilities may not be activated prior to the active player's unzap step or during any cooldown phase, though some may trigger automatically.
Quote:

II.A.1.a. Resolving Abilities - Interrupt abilities can be played even if another ability has been paid for and is in the process of resolving. If this happens, the Interrupt ability resolves first. Interrupts can be played on other Interrupt abilities, in which case the most recently played Interrupt resolves first, followed by the next, and so on.
Quote:

II.A.1.a. Resolving Abilities - An ability is resolved when its effect has been completed to the fullest extent possible. If an ability cannot resolve completely, any unresolved portion of that ability has no effect.
So, with those in mind, you should be able to use the Gambeson's ability on it's own, or to interrupt another ability. You would Zap the Gambeson and roll the die. If the interrupted ability was not causing you damage, then nothing would happen on a 2-6 of the die roll, because there would be no damage to prevent.

I assume you are not trying to find creative ways to damage yourself, so to anticipate the follow-up question, yes, this die roll can trigger the effects of cards like High Roller, Lucky Giant's Toe, and Liar's Dice.

Majobasil 06-24-2019 07:38 PM

Re: Rule question - Gambeson of Gambling
 
As always, thank you, Aleph!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.